Need for change

One thing I’ve never really registered with riding is that the human needs to be in shape too. Do you not just sit there and kick as the Thelwell photos always tell us?

Thelwell

The correct way to ride a horse…

Surely it doesn’t make much difference if we are in shape, because we can just get on the horse and it does all the work? After all, horse riding isn’t that much work. Physically, surely?

As any equestrian would understand, horse riding is very physically tiring – as I wrote here, it’s a daily workout. No word of a lie.

But, apart from the yard duties, lifting buckets, carrying hay nets, and the likes. You would think that actually knowing what each part of your body is doing at any one time is pretty secondary to the rest of riding – right?

Well, this is what I have recently discovered – you actually need to know what your left leg is doing at any one time, and what your core muscles are doing…

AND where your back is tensing.

Who would have known. So, I have taken up pilates, and some are so difficult. Don’t get me wrong, I am not one of those people who goes off to a gym and lies on a mat with someone telling me where to put each part of my body… oh no, I have a book called Equestrian Pilates.

“You have to be in it to win it”; “All the gear, no idea” – both phrases come to mind. Or you could say, I am taking this seriously… I prefer the all gear…

So far, I have discovered that I cannot touch my toes (yet), and actually doing pilates or yoga in a hot country might be more fun and sexy…

But hey ho…

if you can’t beat ’em, join ’em.

Best get back to getting the backbone into a  ‘C’ shape… which enables loosening of the toes.. obvs.

 

Leave a Reply

